Dear ECHA Member,

The ECHA General Committee is made up of 8 elected ECHA members. This includes the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. ECHA General Committee members are nominated and elected by ECHA members. An election will be held in 2020. You will be invited to nominate candidates for the committee and then between March and June will be asked to vote so that the new committee is in place by the 2020 ECHA conference in Porto in August 2020.

The current committee is as follows:

President - Peter Csermely. Due to demit office in August 2020 having served for two four-year terms. Ineligible for re-election

Vice -President – Albert Ziegler. Eligible for re-election having served 4 years

Secretary/Treasuer – Colm O’Reilly. Eligible for re-election having served 4 years. Note, in line with ECHA regulations, the positions of Secretary and Treasurer will be agreed by the new General Committee

Ulrike Kempter – General Committee member until 2022

Mariska Poelman - General Committee member until 2022

Anna Maria Roncoroni - Due to demit office in September 2020. Ineligible for re-election

Margaret Sutherland - Due to demit office in September 2020 having served for two four-year terms. Ineligible for re-election

Victor Mueller-Oppliger - Due to demit office in September 2020 having served for two four-year terms. Ineligible for re-election

Albert Ziegler (Vice-President) and Colm O'Reilly (Secretary-Treasurer) have agreed that they are willing to stand for re-election.

As the first step in the election process, please find attached a Nomination Form for the positions of ECHA President, Vice-President and 4 General Committee members. To  nominate any candidates for the vacant positions, please use the form downloadable from here, and return it before February 29th  2020 (yes, 2020 is a leap year). The form must be signed by yourself, the ECHA member seconding your nomination and the candidate. You should also include a nominee biography of not more than 400 words and a current photograph of the nominee (for the e-vote system). The completed and signed Nomination Form should be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or if using regular mail, please return to the address noted on the form. Please note that nominations coming from those who are currently not members of ECHA or nominations of those who are currently not members of ECHA will not be taken into account.

Mid-March all ECHA members will receive the Ballot Forms and Nominee Profiles. Members will be able to vote using the updated e-vote site (, or by mailing back the Ballot Forms. All forms must be received electronically or by surface mail by midnight on June 15th 2020. No late votes will be accepted or counted. The election committee will announce the results by June 30th via the ECHA website and Facebook page.

The mandate of the new office bearers will start at the end of the 2020 General Assembly. This  will be convened at 17.30 on the 10th September 2018 at the 17th International ECHA Conference in Porto. You can register for this meeting here:  

We look forward to electing new members to the ECHA Committee.

Best wishes,

The Election Committee
Peter Csermely (President of ECHA), Anna Maria Roncoroni, Margaret Sutherland and Victor Mueller-Oppliger ECHA elections 2020

Become a member of the ECHA community! Please click HERE  to start your application to become an ECHA member (where your membership fee can be paid by credit card through a secure connection), or go to the Members Area page, where you may see members' benefits.

For membership issues and general information please contact the ECHA Secretariat by clicking HERE .

ECHA News appears twice a year giving in-depth interviews, description of best practices, introduction of ECHA members and highly able young people. For more information click HERE .

ECHA members receive ECHA News free as a pdf file to their email address. Back issues can be accessed in this web-site for ECHA members.

ECHA has a growing Facebook community. To join ECHA's Facebook group, please click HERE .

To access the European Talent Support Network (ETSN) homepage, please click HERE.


Further Information